K-State Physics News

Researchers Find 3-D View Helps Laser in Building New Molecules

Sorensen Presents "Comet ISON" at Waterville Community Center

Sayre Research on Gender Gap on Concept Inventories in Physics Highlighted

Mortar Board Honors Oustanding Faculty Member Sanjay Rebello

Physics Undergraduates Selected for A&S Research Awards

K-State Faculty Receive NSF Funding

PhD Student Shun Wu Selected as a Finalist in the 2013 Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition

K-State to host an Institute for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics workshop Nov. 4-6

Dean Zollman Named as 2014 Oersted Medal Recipient by AAPT

Research from C.D. Lin's Group with Researchers at Ohio State University Appears on the Cover of Laser Focus World

Fatima Anis, PhD 2009, Receives a U.S. Department of Defense Postdoctoral Fellowship for Breast Cancer Research

Rudenko Receives Vacuum Ultraviolet & X-Ray Physics Conference Award for Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics

Professor Gary Wysin's Article "Effects of Interband Transitions on Faraday Rotation in Metallic Nanoparticles" Selected for Inclusion in IOPselect

Graphene Nanosheets Made by Graduate Student Arjun Nepal in the Detonation Physics Lab at Highbay Mentioned in Research Highlights of Nature Publishing Group (subscription required)

Funds Received for Physics Instructional Equipment Upgrade

Ratra to Speak at Topeka Science Cafe July Meeting on Dark Matter & Dark Energy

A Publication in Physical Review Letters by Graduate Student Junliang Xu et al has been selected in the Research Highlights of Nature Photonics

K-State AMO Researchers Publish Video Abstract in New Journal of Physics

KSU Researchers Publish One of the First Video Abstracts in Physics Journal

Early career award supports Ivanov's quest for a top quark partner

Nontraditional student receives Hollings Scholarship to study meteorology

New Student Chapter of Optical Society at Kansas State University

Andrew Ivanov Receives DOE Early Career Award

Maia Magrakvelidze Awarded the 2013 K-State Physics Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher Award

Physics Major Jeffrey Murray named a McNair scholar for 2013 at their 18th annual Scholar Recognition Event

The PhD Thesis of our former graduate student Cheng Jin, "Theory of Nonlinear Propagation of High Harmonics Generated in a Gaseous Medium", has been selected to be published into the Springer Theses series. The publication offers the opportunity to gain further exposure of his thesis work and prize money. Dr. Jin's PhD thesis was directed by University Distinguished Professor C. D. Lin within the J. R. Macdonald Laboratory

Sanjay Rebello to Present Provost Lecture on Thursday, April 25, at 3:30 p.m. in Hale Library's Hemisphere Room

Physics Graduate Student Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

Star struck: Physics lecturer to talk about modification of the big bang theory

Brett DePaola Selected to Receive the 2013 Presidential Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Ratra to Present "Dark Matter, Dark Energy and the Accelerating Universe" Talk as part of the Johnson County Science Cafe' on April 9

Derrek Wilson, First Year Graduate Student, Awarded NSF Graduate Fellowship for Optics Development of the High Intensity Tunable Source (HITS) Laser at the James R Macdonald Laboratory

Physics Lecturer David Weitz to Talk about Microfluids in Neff Lecture on Monday, April 1, at 4:30 p.m. in Town Hall of the Leadership Studies Building

Inaugural Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol Includes Physics Major Kevin Robben

Don't miss the next Year of the Brain interactive seminar tomorrow

K-State Physicist Returns from South America

Fantastic voyage: University physicist invited as speaker on South American cruise

Bharat Ratra to Present "Dark Matter, Dark Energy and the Accelerating Universe" Talk at Mueller Planetarium at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln on March 2

Soft and Biological Physics Research Featured in A&S Letters Winter 2013 Issue

K-State Physics Releases 2013 Newsletter

Bharat Ratra to Present Distinguished Gradaute Faculty Lecture on Tuesday, February 12 at 4:00 p.m. in the Little Theatre of the K-State Student Union

Alumna Dyan Jones Named Research Fellow at Mercyhurst University

Wysin Publishes New Textbook

University Physics Department Continues Popular Series at Olathe campus

Jim Chelikowsky, Class of 1970, Wins Rahman Prize from the American Physical Society